New Blog and What’s the Deal with Twitter

Posted: June 7, 2009 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , ,

My first blog entry!  Let me say upfront that I know this blog is pretty much doomed to failure.  I have no real goals, nor any real expectations for this blog.  I have an idea of what I am going to write about today, but no clue about what I am going to write about next time.  But on the flip side, right now I expect this blog to have somewhere in between 0 and 1 reader (I haven’t decided if I am going to read my own blog or not!) so it will be hard to disappoint anyone.  So the plan, if you can call it that, is that about once a week, I am just going to write about whatever I feel like writing about.  I have a feeling that is mostly going to entail writing how the world is so stupid and how things would be so much better if everyone would just let me do all the deciding (stupid people, stupid stupid people!).

So today’s topic, Twitter.  As in, Twitter, I don’t get it.  Its purpose, its popularity, its anything, I just don’t get it.  Whenever I read a twitter, which admittedly is rarely, it just appears to be a collection of short inane comments that are completely unrelated to each other.  I mean, really, what’s the fun in that?

You know, I thought I had it figured out.  You see, it seems that celebrities in particular of taken an infinity to Twittering.  So I thought that perhaps Twittering was a way for the general masses to acheive some small connection to otherwise unapproachable celebrities.  But visiting some celebrity Twitters, I see the same inane comments that I see at any other Twitter.

Let’s see, Alyssa Milano says “Dear Birds Of Utah, Y do U wake up so early? cnt U wait til after we wrap before U srt chirping? Sleep in. U’re not in ths scene. Love, Me”

Um, WTF?

OK, let’s try another.  Felicia Day says “Downloaded Peggle and…that was my Saturday. Yep.”

Fascinating.  Yep.

And there seems to be little reason to think that these celebs are actually even reading any of the other posts.  So is there any real connection established?  At all?  I guess how much ever connection you can acheive in that your post may be in close proximity to a celeb’s post in cyberspace.  Yay?

So that’s my rant.  If anyone does happen to read this and would care to enlighten me, feel free.  I really would like to know.  Until then, I will not Twitter.  However, should YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook merge to form “You Twit Face!”, I will so be there.  (thank you Conan O’Brien for that gem!).

Leave a Reply

