World’s (Not So) Funniest Blog’s Summer Movie Review (so far)

Posted: August 9, 2009 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

And only the films I’ve seen. Which fortunately (or not) for you has been more than usual for me, most years if I were to write an article like this, I could only write about the one movie I had seen. Not that I have gone out and seen everything, or even close to it. But I have seen a few, some which were good, and some that were not so much. So without further ado, here goes:

5 stars:

“The Hangover” – This film is simply hilarious. It’s the best comedy I have seen in years. This was certainly a breakout film for Zach Galifianakis, but the whole cast was great. The story is as simple as can be, but it doesn’t need to be anything more because the vast majority of the jokes work. And the credits at the end just can’t be missed. The one thing I will say is that this movie earns every bit of its R rating, so if you are easily offended, you probably should skip this. Otherwise I highly recommend this film.

4 stars:

“Drag Me To Hell” – Sam Raimi’s return to the horror genre after doing those films about some superhero dude that apparently was a pretty big deal. Another fun film, this was very much in the same vein as Raimi’s earlier works Evil Dead and Army of Darkness. If you liked those films, you will like this one too. Alison Lohman does her best Bruce Campbell, and holds her own very well. I have seen some criticize the fact that this was a PG-13 rated film, with the apparent belief that for some reason that detracts from the film’s quality. I completely disagree. I have nothing against gore or sexual content, but gore and sexual content just for the sake of having gore and sexual content doesn’t add quality to any film. This was fine just the way it was.

“Star Trek” – This is a film that I thought would be lame when I first heard about it. But while I don’t think it was brilliant by any means, it definitely brings enough story and action to be enjoyable. I guess I should have figured that with JJ Abrams behind the scenes. Lost may not always make perfect sense, but it does always entertain. On the other hand, by my count, this would be an odd number Star Trek, and everyone knows the odd number Star Treks suck. Thankfully this film broke that trend.

2 stars and 1/2:

“Watchmen” – I know it’s technically not a movie from this summer. But the DVD was just released, and I haven’t seen it until now, so sue me! Anyway, this one was a disappointment. I feel like somewhere in here was a good movie. Unfortunately the makers have never heard of a process called editing. Clocking in at over 2 hours and 40 minutes, it is just way too long for its material. Not the worse that I have seen, but tighten this up and I think you have something. As it is, overall it is pretty mediocre.

2 stars:

“Funny People” – Speaking of films that are too long. Note to Hollywood, if you are going to make a film over 2 hours long, you need to make sure that the story is actually interesting enough to justify the run-time. This story is not. This is theoretically a comedy. And it does have some funny lines. But it also is clearly suppose to be drama as well, and that part just didn’t work for me at all. And there’s not enough comedy to salvage it (it doesn’t help that it is out during the same summer as the outstanding “The Hangover”).

1 star:

“G.I. Joe – The Rise of Cobra” – I can’t believe that I convinced myself to go see this. It’s just not good. For one, it suffers from the old plot contrivance that everything and everyone must be related. For another, the main point of this film seems to be to set up the next film, which really bugs me. The dialogue is bad, and not in a good cheesy way either. The acting is merely passable. So what you are left with is a bunch of things getting blown up. I guess that is fine and all, but I need to have some fun factor to go with that, and I just didn’t get that out of this film. It is what I imagine the Transformer films are like.

I read some positive internet message board buzz on this film and decided that this could be fun. After all, “The Hangover” was totally off my radar until I read the buzz on that one, and that worked out great. But I forgot something. Unlike original comedies, films about comic books/toys have something called “fanboys”. Their comments need to be taken with a grain of salt. So a big fail on my part. I won’t make that mistake again.

So there you go. Not a complete review by any means. Then again, nobody pays me to do this (if anyone wants to pay me to do this, I will be more than happy to do so!). I guess based on what I have seen so far, if you haven’t seen any of the summer films yet, go see the early ones and skip the ones that have come out more recently!  I would love to here some comments on these movies, and particularly movies that I haven’t seen.

On a local note, I want to give a plug for somebody that works at the same insurance company that I do. He makes movies as a hobby (or maybe his “day job” is the hobby and the movie thing is what he really does!). Considering this is just some guy in Birmingham, Alabama doing this in his free time, I think his work is absolutely amazing. His first film was “Hide and Creep“, which is getting re-released on DVD (click the link to order).  His second film, “Interplanetary“, will make its debut at the Birmingham Sidewalk Moving Picture Festival over the weekend of Sept 25-27.  So if you happen to be in the Birmingham area, you should check it out.  I guarantee it will be a lot better than G.I. Joe!  (the critics rave, even better than G.I. Joe!)

Comments
  1. you are my new favorite movie reviewer!! awesome!
    GI Smoe

  2. gesvol says:

    See, I should so totally get paid to review movies! By the way, District 9 and Inglourious Basterds are both worth seeing. And if you are lucky, for Inglourious Basterds, there will be old people there that probably are looking for an old-fashioned WW-II era flick. Bonus entertainment as they react in horror to Tarantino’s violence!

Leave a Reply

