The 11th annual Sidewalk Moving Picture Festival will be held on the weekend of September 25th-27th in Birmingham. This will be my first time attending this event and I am looking forward to it. For the low cost of $30, you can buy a weekend pass to watch as many movies as you would like. Not a bad way to spend a weekend in my opinion. As I mentioned in the movie review post, a co-worker of mine (Chance Shirley) will be debuting his new movie Interplanetary. Trust me, his first movie, Hide and Creep, was outstanding, especially given the obvious budget limitations.  And judging by reviews such as the one here and here, this one may be even better.  This one has been scheduled for 4:15pm on Sunday, September 27th at the Carver Theatre.  There looks to be plenty of other cool movies as well.  (Of course, I have weird tastes.  I was giddy to find Troll 2 on the schedule.  Your mileage may vary!)  You can get schedule information, ticket information, and more by going to the Sidewalk Moving Festival Picture website.

Share

Comments
  1. smallerdemon says:

    Interplanetary is one of the films I am most interested in at this year’s Sidewalk. I was at the premier for Hide And Creep (I have a link to typo-riddled review at Aint It Cool if you’re interested) and loved it. It was a such a great experience, too, having premiered at Sloss Furnace on a mild September fall evening. When I saw that they had a new movie, and a scifi-horror throwback to the 50s, well, I knew that had to go on my “must see” list.

    The Carver is a great venue, too. It basically is the theater down the street from the Alabama theater that was the “black” theater back in the 40s and 50s. It is a great movie theater and after the Alabama it is easily my favorite venue. I have seen some great stuff there too during Sidewalk such as FIREFLY (not the Whedon one), BLOOD CAR and DEAD AND BREAKFAST. I think they also showed the excellent MURDER PARTY there.

  2. gesvol says:

    I believe this must be the link that you are talking about:

    http://www.aintitcool.com/?q=node/18487

    Looks pretty typo free to me! Actually I had read this review (and others like it). These were the type of reviews that convinced me that I needed to seek this movie out. Hide and Creep was roughly released at the time I moved to Alabama. I was not even aware of its existence until a couple of years later. And even then my perception was ‘A guy that works here made a movie? Well it can’t possibly be any good. So what he got it on Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi shows a lot of crap.’ The only incentive at all to seek this out in my mind was the possibility that it just might be so awesomely bad that it would be entertaining in a MST3K sort of way. One day I decided just to see what info was out there about this movie, and ran across reviews like yours, which were raving about how good this film is. At that point, I just had to see it. And since the chances of it replaying on Sci-Fi at this point were pretty much none, I decided just to buy the DVD, which I did a few months ago (NOT paying $100 that I am seeing some copies being sold for now!). And sure enough, it is as good as advertised (I am a sucker for horror comedies anyway). Based on that, I knew right then and there that I was going to see Chance’s next movie at the first opportunity.

    But I am also looking forward to this event in general. Not sure how this failed to show up on my radar before now. If it is entertaining as I think it might be, this is something I would probably attend every year. Granted, it is during football season. But that is why man invented Tivo!

Leave a Reply

