Worst….Local Government….Ever!!! Part….I’ve Lost Count!

Posted: September 20, 2009 in Politics
Tags: , , , , ,

So I am reading this morning’s The Birmingham News (that’s right, kickin’ it old school, reading an actual physical black and white newspaper, turning the pages by hand and all!) and see an article regarding the city of Birmingham’s financial status.  Here’s a link, for those who are not old school like myself:

Birmingham, Alabama’s Financial Picture Is Unclear

So the city installs a fancy computer accounting system over the course of 3 years.  Now that it goes live, it is spitting out that the city operated at a $28 million deficit over the past year.  But now according the mayor Larry Langford and his staff, this new fancy computer accounting system cannot be believed because the numbers generated are “incomplete” and “misleading”.  Rather, we should just take his word for it, there’s plenty of money (plenty for his dome project, Fair Park renovation, etc.).  We should just trust him.  Personally, I don’t see why we shouldn’t trust somebody with outstanding integrity and character such as Langford.  After all, a man who has been indicted on 101 federal counts for mail fraud, bribery, money laundering, and conspiracy is a man I would stake my life on as being honest!

I love this quote from the article.  In regards to the supposed inaccuracy of the numbers from the accounting system, Samford University professor Cynthia Lohrke said “What bothers me — well crud, if you can’t trust the budget numbers, what can you trust?”  Yes, crud!  A word that is not used enough!  I think I will make it my goal to use the word crud more!  In fact, I think crud is a good word to describe our city and county governments!  They are the cruddiest!

Share

Leave a Reply

