Vols Attempt To Steal Game From Bama, Bama Steals It Back 12-10

Posted: October 24, 2009 in UT Vols Football
Tags: , , , ,

Boy, that was soul crushing!  I have to say, I am not a big fan of field goal kickers right now!  Alabama’s inability to score touchdowns almost cost them the game today, but it was trumped by UT’s inability to kick a field goal above armpit level, apparently.  Man, this one really hurts!

The Good:

  • Jonathan Crompton had a very solid game.  265 yards against this defense is good, and more than I expected.  He played well enough for UT to win.
  • The defense continues to be solid.  They find a way to not to give up many points.  And holding Mark Ingram under 100 yards is very impressive.
  • The best part about this UT team is they never quit playing.  That had been lacking the last couple of years, so it is good to see.

The Bad:

  • I thought we would be able to run the ball, but the running game was pretty much shut down.  The Bama D-line is really good.
  • Penalties played a big role.  UT had 8 penalties for 68 yards, while Alabama only had 1 penalty for 10 yards.  And worse, the penalties that UT had were drive killers.
  • Lane Kiffin’s strategy at the end.  Given the way the kicking game had gone, Kiffin should have been trying to get as close as possible.  Instead he shut it down with 36 seconds to go and left the kicker with a 44 yarder.  Definitely a mistake!  (To be fair, had Kiffin gone for more and Crompton would have thrown an interception, he would have caught all kinds of grief by most fans.  You will just have to take my word for it, but I wouldn’t have been one of those fans.  Heck, personally after seeing that last kick, I would have been trying my best to get the TD!)

The Ugly:

  • Daniel Lincoln.  Gary Danielson looks like a genius for mentioning the low trajectory of Lincoln’s kicks early in the game.  I didn’t think much about it, after all, it was only one kick (at the time).  But he called it.  Lincoln just seemed incapable of getting any height on any of his kicks (and distance for that matter).  “Mount” Cody got a little push on those plays, but he was blocking kicks without jumping and with his armpit for goodness sake!
  • My ill-advised bet.  I shouldn’t bet, it’s not my nature.  But I did, and I did so with my heart instead of my brain.  So stupidly, I made a bet with a co-worker on this game without getting any points at all.  Now I am going to have to….hold on….OK, I just threw up a little in my mouth…..just give me a second here……OK, I am going to have to purchase an Alabama cap and wear it every time I run until the end of the year…….just barfed again!  Um, doesn’t look like I have enough sick-personal time to miss the rest the year.  Yeah, this is pretty much going to suck.  But a bet is a bet, and I am a man of my word.  So I guess I am going hat shopping tomorrow.  Blah!

Next up for the Vols is South Carolina.  It will be interesting to see how they rebound for the rest of the season.  Looking at the schedule, it is not out of the question that they could win out and finish a very respectable 8-4.  But these kind of losses sometimes take all the fight out of a team.  We will find out a lot about this team’s character down the stretch of the season.

Share

Leave a Reply

