Running Races Is FUN!!!!

Posted: October 31, 2009 in running
Tags: , , ,

Just got back from running my second 5k race, the Calera Eagle 5k in Calera, AL.  I have a runner’s high right now that I think is going to last the rest of the day!  A different atmosphere than the Race For The Cure, but I kind of liked it.  I think there was a little over 100 entrants in total (as opposed to the thousands at Race For The Cure).  The rain was there (wouldn’t mind running a race without rain at some point!).  But once again, the rain did not dampen the enthusiasm!  This course was advertised as flat and fast, and I can now attest that it is as advertised.  I crushed my Race For The Cure Time, coming in at 26:06 (shaving over 2 minutes off my previous 5k).  That felt really good!

I have to say that I felt like I was robbed in the costume contest!  I thought my zombie outfit was pretty nifty there at the beginning.  (It was cracking up during the race when I would hear “Look, there’s the zombie!” from somebody watching.)  But I had a couple of things working against me.  One, the rain played havoc on my makeup and effects.  I am sure the sweat didn’t do it much good either.  By the end of the race, I had lost my scars and the sign I was wearing on the back of my shirt (“Zombie Survival Rule #1:  Cardio!), and the makeup just didn’t look good.  So I went ahead and washed it off before the judging.  Which leads to two, judging was done by crowd reaction as we stood in front of the crowd.  So it pretty much didn’t help that I was no longer in costume.  Plus, the folks I was with are not the most vocal around.  And I am from out-of-town.  But I DO know vocal people, so next year watch out Calera!  I am so winning the costume contest!

Anyway, I had a lot of fun.  I won’t have to wait long for my next race, I have entered the Vulcan 10k next Saturday.  The distance shouldn’t be a problem, as long as I don’t get carried away with the race pace.  The pace I ran today works for 5k, but I would be in trouble for the last 5k if I tried that next week.  So I just have to run my race and not pay attention to anyone else, and I think I will be fine.  If nothing else, it should be another opportunity for fun!

Share

Leave a Reply

