McCluster 42 – UT Vols 14

Posted: November 14, 2009 in UT Vols Football
Tags: , , , ,

I guess it is a fitting end to a bad week for the Tennessee Volunteers.  If you didn’t see, Ole Miss’s Dexter McCluster absolutely went off on the Vols, and they had absolutely no answer.  How do let one guy get 324 total yards?  While McCluster didn’t actually score all 42 points, he definitely owned the day.  And with one game, a lot of my optimism has been drained.  I think this team will still get to a bowl, as I believe Vandy could lose to anybody.  But a lose to Kentucky is not out of the question, so it may be sort of a backdoor bowl trip.  The best I can do for a positive spin is that I suppose the Vols might be coming here to Birmingham…sigh.

The Good:

  • To continue to give the guy his due, Jonathan Crompton continues to play well.  He just didn’t get any support today.  I never thought I would see the day that Crompton was the only good thing about the team.

The Bad:

  • Everything else.  The offensive line did nothing, so there was no running game.  And the defense just plain didn’t show up today.  I have no idea what that was about.  To top it all off, UT had yet another FG attempt blocked.  (Note to Lane Kiffin:  Whatever injury Lincoln has, it is becoming clear that he is not going to get over it this season.  It’s also clear that he just can’t get enough height on any FG attempts over 40 yards.  Quit trying!)

The Ugly:

  • The above would have been the ugly if it were not for the off-the-field stuff that happened this week.  Unless you have been living under the proverbial rock, you know that 3 Tennessee football players, all freshmen, were arrested during the week for attempted armed robbery.  To further demonstrate the genius of these young men, one of them was even wearing their UT football warm-ups.  I don’t know how much of a distraction this was for game preparation, but it couldn’t have helped.  Now I have already seen some spin that suggests that the best of the three, Janzen Jackson, is somehow going to get off.  But as far as I am concerned, if he was with the other two that night, common sense dictates that he knew what was going on and was likely involved in some manner.  If it were up to me, I would dismiss all three regardless.  We will see what Kiffin decides to do.

This week seemed to undo what was appearing to be a nice turnaround to the season.  It also seemed to undo what was a nice recruiting class for Lane.  How things can change in just one week.  Tennessee plays Vanderbilt next week, which I believe UT will win.  (If the Vols do somehow lose this one, I will wonder how much the team has actually progressed.  Plus making a bowl at all will be in doubt.)


Share

Leave a Reply

