My AT&T Coverage Map Stinks!

Posted: January 16, 2010 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , , ,

I really have no idea what the quality of wireless service AT&T provides.  But what I can tell you is that my land line has “zero bars” right now, and has been that way since at least Tuesday!  When I discovered the problem, I promptly went to their website and followed their troubleshooting guidelines.  I tested the “Network Interface” box and found nothing was working over there either.  So I follow the instructions on the website, which asked me to fill out a online repair request.  But it tells me I need a special code.  So fine, I click to see where I find this special code.  And it tells me that somebody will kindly CALL me and provide me with the code.  Well obviously that can’t happen, that’s why I am trying to get the stupid code in the first place!

But there is a link to click if you have no dial tone, so I click that and it tells me I can either e-mail them or call the 800 number provided.  So hey, it’s 2010, I will just e-mail it in using the form.  I do all of this on Tuesday.  And then I wait.  And wait.  And wait some more.  And probably show way more patience than I should.  Finally hearing absolutely nothing, and still having no phone service, I decide that perhaps I should choose option B, and call it in.  At least that way I would talk to somebody.  Or so I thought.  But no, I instead talk to Mr. PreRecording.  It uses voice recognition.  Oh what fun it is to try to guess what words Mr. PreRecording actually knows!  (I was at work at today, and was wondering if anyone would say anything as I was talking on the phone saying “no” and then frustratingly “NO!!!!!” when the stupid thing wouldn’t recognize what I was saying.  It was like having my tonsils pulled all over again.  But no one said anything.)

I get to the end finally, and Mr. PreRecording tells me that there is a problem with my phone (well, gee, thanks, sort of why I was calling but I am SO glad you agree Mr. PreRecording).  Then it tells me that I can expect the problem to be fixed on Wednesday.  Wednesday?  Are you kidding me?  This is what I am paying for?  Gee, I may know one reason people may be switching to Verizon, and it doesn’t have anything to do with maps!  The small piece of good news is that I least now when I visit the website, it does recognize that I have submitted a problem report.  Small victories I guess.

Sorry, just needed to rant, and I realized that I have a place to do it.  Oh, and Luke Wilson can bite me!

Share

Leave a Reply

