Republicans Have It Figured Out, Unemployment Get Rich Scheme For Lazy Bums!

Posted: July 8, 2010 in Current Events, Politics
Tags: , , ,

Yep, those Republicans have finally figured out what was holding up the works with our economy.  It was those darn unemployment benefits!  The lazy simply just sit on their keister and watch the money just roll in!  There’s so much cash, the federal government was practically making it rain!  I remember back in the day when the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous show was on, and I would sit there and wonder how that person found the money, and without fail it would be “unemployment benefits Robin”.

Thank goodness the Republicans have put a stop to the gravy train!  People in this state were receiving up to $255 a week.  $255!  I am surprised with that kind of money rolling through that growth in rich suburb cities such as Mountain Brook hasn’t been through the roof!  I mean, it would only take about 1,800 weeks to pay for the average house in Mountain Brook raking in that kind of dough.  But not anymore.  Now we have put a stop to the benefits, I expect the deficit to turn into a surplus by the end of the month and the national debt to be paid for by the end of the year.

Seriously, I had a period in my life where I was on unemployment.  Personally I didn’t even sign up for benefits until well after I was qualified to do so, and I never felt good about it.  In short, being unemployed sucks.  Now maybe there are a few people who are perfectly happy about sitting around doing nothing and getting unemployment checks (even though they will be getting pennies on the dollar of what they were earning when employed).  But I have to believe that the vast majority of people who are unemployed feel as I felt, pretty worthless and wanting to work.

Now if I was cynical, I would say that the real reason Republicans refuse to extend unemployment benefits is that they want to ensure that the economy remains in the proverbial shitter so that they can continue to claim that the stimulus package didn’t work and blame Obama for the failing economy with hopes of making big gains in the November mid-terms.  Oh wait, I AM cynical, so I just said that! 😉

Share

Comments
  1. Allen says:

    unemployment sucks but when there are no jobs out there at least it feeds families, etc.

  2. Allen says:

    Also there are many unemployed not voting this year. Why put another sob anywhere?

Leave a Reply

