Race To Save The Grist Mill 8k

Posted: September 29, 2010 in running
Tags: , , , , , ,

So I have a lot of posts in the queue.  The result, daily me!  I know that has to be exciting!

Ahem.  Anyway, my running partner was out of town this past week, so I decided with nothing better to do on a Saturday morning that I would run an 8k (actually a little over 8k, it was about 5.2 miles) race.  So I made my way to Childersburg, Alabama for a race they were holding as part of their “Coosa Fest” to raise money to help preserve the Kymulga Grist Mill.

OK, so the summer in Alabama lasted FOREVER this year.  We finally got the cool snap on Sunday, but Saturday we still were having highs in the 90’s.  So with the race starting at 8:30 am, that still meant that temperatures were hotter than I like to run in (and I have discovered that I struggle pretty mightedly in the heat).  However, I did have the sense to temper my expectations and did a good job of keeping a nice pace, instead of burning myself out in the first mile or two.  Also, there was more shade on the route than I expected given it was all rural highway.  I only wanted to keep under a 10 minute pace for the race, and I did that, finishing in 50:30.  I had to dash somebody’s dream of coming in 22nd place by outsprinting him to the finish line!  (That will teach that 60 year-old for messing with me!  Ha!!!!!   Actually I’m just kidding about the age.  But speaking of age, there was an 81 year-old woman who finished the race.  I think that’s amazing!)

The post-race food was very basic, but fine.  Bananas and cookies.  The real highlight was walking around the Grist Mill park itself.  The Grist Mill is very cool (see above), as is the creek running right next to yet (complete with a few small waterfalls).  Very nice, I wish I had brought my camera.  The event also had many, many door prizes.  A lot of people had left, and you had to be there to win.  So of course I won……nothing.  I think they would have save time by drawing a name of the person who wasn’t going to win anything, draw my name, and get it over with.  It’s just as well, it was mostly gift certificates to local businesses, which I wouldn’t have been able to use anyway.  Oh, almost forgot about the goodie bag.  I’m pretty sure I now have every promotional trinket ever produced for Coosa Pines Federal Credit Union.  So does anyone need a Coosa Pines Federal Credit Union baseball cap?  How about a Coosa Pines Federal Credit Union tire gauge?  Shoe shine polisher?

It wasn’t a bad way to spend a Saturday morning.  So next up is the big one!  October 23rd, The Running For The Bay Half Marathon in Apalachicola, Florida!  Looks like it is going to be three of us making the trip.  I think we are going to have a blast!  I am ready for this.  I think.  No, no, I’m sure that I am.  Am I?  No, I’m definitely ready.  Definitely maybe.  No definitely period.  It is going to be fun.  Wait, it is?  Why would I want to run 13.1 miles?  That’s why man invented the automobile!  Oh yeah, I just remembered, I like running.  It’s going to be awesome! (I think 🙂 )

Share

Leave a Reply

