America Is Ready To Do Whatever It Takes To Be More Eco-Friendly…..As Long As It’s Not A Little Noisy!

Posted: October 6, 2010 in Current Events
Tags: , , , ,

Because really, a little noise is just asking way too much!

OK, I’m not going to lie.  I’m not exactly Mr. Environment when it comes to how I live.  But even so, if there are things we can do that aren’t as harsh on our eco-system, then I have to believe that’s a good thing.  Anyway, I’m on my way home from work today and listening to NPR.  NPR is interviewing representatives from Frito Lay.  As it turns out, Frito Lay had developed a biodegradable bag that they have been using for their Sun Chips product over the past year.  Hey, sounds like a win to me.  Unfortunately, they have made the decision to pull the bags for most of their Sun Chips products, which is why they were on the radio.

That’s too bad.  So why did they make this decision?  Was there something unforeseen, something that impacted product safety?  Did the bag somehow affect the taste of the product?  Or the quality, maybe somehow the chips didn’t stay as fresh for as long?  No, no, it was none of those things.  Frito Lay has decided to pull the bags because its customers complained about the bags………being too noisy.  So Frito Lay is making a return to non-biodegradable bags because consumers simply could not handle a little noise.

As it so happens, I have a case of individual bags of Sun Chips in the apartment right now.

 

So noisy, even this picture is making noise! BOOM!

 

Whoa!  Sorry, I didn’t mean to scare you all with the noisy chip bags!  Should have given you all fair warning!  The neighbors are constantly complaining.  I keep telling them that with proper ear protection, it really isn’t that big of a deal!  But they keep going on, “blah, blah, blah”, so eventually I just grab a bag so I can tune them out.

Seriously, I suppose now that they have mentioned it, the bags may be slightly louder than a normal chip bag.  But had I not heard the story today, I don’t think I would have ever made any special notice of it.  But apparently Frito Lay has had many complaints.  Sun Chips sales have dropped by 11% since the bags have been introduced.  And there was a big Facebook campaign to change the Sun Chips bags (ah, the power of the “social network”, making a difference in such important issues as chip bag noise levels and SNL host selections!).

So those who would tout that the free market always makes the best choices, let me ask you this.  Apparently the free market says that having non-noisy potato chip bags should be a higher priority than protecting our environment.  Is that really the best choice?

Share

Leave a Reply

