Vulcan Run 10k 2010

Posted: November 15, 2010 in running
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Now that I have run a race that wasn’t the most organized in the world (by which I mean pretty much not organized at all), I have a greater appreciation for races that are well-organized.  The Vulcan Run 10k held a couple of weeks ago in Birmingham is such a race.  Great organization, plenty of volunteers, plenty of water and sports drinks on the course, traffic control provided by friendly and encouraging policemen, an actual post-race party, etc.

What a great day to run a race!  A little chilly for sure, but once you get going it’s not so bad.  This is the second time I have done this race, so it didn’t have the new factor it did the last time.  Still, it’s a beautiful course and with around 1400 participants, it’s a lot of fun.  I completed the run in around an hour, a little slower than last year but about where I expected to finish (now that I’ve completed a half, it’s time to turn my focus back on getting my speed better!).  Lael completed the run even faster (I believe she recorded her personal best for this distance).  And another coworker of mine completed his first 10k race, and is now ready to take on the challenge of the half-marathon, which I think is awesome!  Like I said, a lot of fun!

The challenge over the holidays is going to be to keep up with enough of a training schedule to be prepared to run the Mercedes half in February.  We are running a 10 mile race in early January which will serve as an excellent tune-up (and will be a good test of our preparation up to that point).  It’s not going to be easy, but I’m looking forward to it!

Share

Comments
  1. unlike most of your pictures this is a good picture of you!

Leave a Reply

